Overcoming Bloglessness

New Snow

5 Comments

Weekly Photo Challenge New.

Nothing new here but snow and snow and more new snow.

010

017

004

Yesterday the birdbath held a giant marshmallow.  Today it turned ghostly.

004

“You need to move back home,” says my friend who hates snow. She doesn’t understand.

011

“We don’t mind digging out,”  I tell her.   “We’re glad for the exercise.”    It’s the cure for cabin fever.
Plus, I could stand to burn a calorie.

We shoveled the driveway twice yesterday.  This morning there was 20 inches of new snow to dig.   It snowed all day. We talked about getting a plow blade for the truck, but then it wouldn’t fit in the garage. Maybe a four-wheeler with a blade, or a snow thrower. We could hire someone. But no, as long as we’re able-bodied, we’ll bundle up and dig out the old fashioned way.

I dug a trench to the henhouse.  Twice.

009

Will this be the winter that breaks my spirit and cures me of my love of snow?  I don’t think that’s possible. It’s in my Scandinavian blood. This is how winter is supposed to be. I like it like this.

005 (2)

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Author: Susan B Raven

For many years I have suffered from debilitating bloglessness, only writing in my head, while everyone else posted and shared with ease. Previous attempts at recovery have failed, my secret journals edited to death, pages torn out, crumpled and trashed. I will not succumb to this embarassing condition. I will continue to struggle against the rampant backspacing and endless blank staring. I refuse to relapse into the void that is bloglessness. I can do it. I am doing it. I am Overcoming Bloglessness.

5 thoughts on “New Snow

  1. And down here in Johannesburg it has just turned 1100 hrs. and the mercury has already hit 30 C !
    What a contrast.

    • Wow, you’re in for a hot one. Is it humid too?
      Today we have a crackly sheen of ice on everything. No more new snow, but this old snow will likely be here awhile.

      • Being as high above sea level as we are, humidity is not too bad in Jo’berg. Down at the coast by the Indian Ocean in Durban …. phew… a different story!

        It has snowed a grand total of three times in the thirty years I have lived in Johannesburg!

  2. Cool shots! 🙂 I do love snow.

    janet

  3. That’s a whole lot of snow… Wow… Lovely captures…

Leave a Reply

