Overcoming Bloglessness

Fortress of Solitude

29 Comments

I didn’t intend to build a snow-fort. I was just goofing off while Mr. Raven made repairs to snow-damaged gutters. In between holding the ladder and fetching tools, I puttered around, organizing clumps of snow into an igloo shape; an open-concept igloo, meaning I didn’t attempt a roof. It’s an ice-palace tower. It’s a Fortress of Solitude.

It felt good to be playing outside in the sunshine. The snow was perfect for construction; sticky and cooperative. A glaze of ice on top made a stackable, flatish surface. The walls grew taller and taller. I kept thinking I was going to stop, but I didn’t. I knew I would pay with a backache, but I kept stacking and building long after the gutter repairman had gone inside.

Apparently he was amused. Apparently, he took this picture.

006

The girls would enjoy this, I thought while I worked. But a Fortress of Solitude must be built alone. That’s a rule. The walls would not be this tall if children had helped. Someone would’ve fussed for a snowman instead. Someone would’ve gone all Jericho on the thing.

Before the sun set, it burned a hole in one side which I mended this morning, while it was still below freezing. This afternoon, when the sun softened the snow again, I balanced more melty chunks on top; precariously perched chunks which will freeze up nice and solid tonight.

Maybe tomorrow I’ll try to patch up some of the weak spots. Maybe I’ll put a lawn chair in there and sit and ponder the thing.

It’s perilous out there now. The path is so slick I wear traction devices on my boots. The walls are so tall, the chunks of ice so heavy- well, frankly I could be killed. The whole thing could cave in on me and I’d be buried. Β Mr. Raven might not notice for days.

People would say, Well, she died doing what she loved.

024

They’d tsk-tsk sadly, saying, And this is the last picture she ever took.

026

 

 

Daily Prompt What was the last picture you took? Tell us the story behind it.
via A Moment in Time.

Author: Susan B Raven

For many years I have suffered from debilitating bloglessness, only writing in my head, while everyone else posted and shared with ease. Previous attempts at recovery have failed, my secret journals edited to death, pages torn out, crumpled and trashed. I will not succumb to this embarassing condition. I will continue to struggle against the rampant backspacing and endless blank staring. I refuse to relapse into the void that is bloglessness. I can do it. I am doing it. I am Overcoming Bloglessness.

29 thoughts on “Fortress of Solitude

  1. LOVE IT! And for sure, put a lawn chair out there and bring a thermos of coffee and a good book. Or a thermos of Irish coffee and you won’t need the book.

  2. Oh, you kid, you. I can’t believe I’ve never made a snow fort! Makes me want to brave the snow again. Yes, go sit, but wear a crash helmet! Judy

  3. That’s wonderful! πŸ™‚ “She died doing what she loved” Sort of like Sir Thomas Mallory!

  4. My, you are awfully diligent, Susan. A couple years ago I tried building a proper igloo with the kids, using a rectangular bucket. They (and then I) gave up after about 1 1/2 rows of bricks. And it was small, too. As for snowpeople . . . only once have I made a snowman (globular-bodied midget person of snow-dirt is more like it, about a foot high) as an adult. I guess when I was a child, time had no meaning to me (probably the best definition of child) and I would have spent hours at a fun task like that. Don’t know whether to be happy or disappointed in myself. In any case, congratulations on a cool endeavor (pun not completely unintended).

  5. This was really a treat seeing the snow walls. Weren’t your hands frozen?

  6. Hi ! Susan I’ve never seen snow in my life. I love watching snowfall in movies and pictures of snow covered landscape. Your wonderful story was a bonus !

  7. Your pictures convey such a vastness. Snow and more snow! i love to imagine you out there, building a bigger, and bigger, and yet even bigger fortress! I felt as if I were reading a visual poem. I think I am cold. πŸ™‚

  8. Brilliant. I have a midsummer thunder storm outside my window right now; the idea of building a snow structure is fantasy to me. Love the glowing snow in the last photo.

  9. grinning ear to ear, here. Perfect response to the prompt!

  10. Thank you for sharing … You have me smiling from ear to ear and remembering snow fort .. and a fair few snowballs to go with them .. you know just encase some more giggles were to be had .. me I’ve recently been trampoline’ing on a big old fallen beech in the woods .. oo its good to let those inner children out to play

  11. Oh, I just love this post and the whole idea of a fortress of solitude. Highly original response to the prompt!

  12. Pingback: Visiting moments in time for 101 & found this : Social Media is a Waste of Time for Writers—Hmmm, Think Again .. so decided to try the “scary” PRESS this button ;) LOL | Heart Cloud Blessings

  13. I don’t think you need one more “Loved It!” but <there it is anyway.

  14. haha – what fun – embracing the inner child.

  15. Pingback: Dynwens Last Symphony – the past is cast | litadoolan

Leave a Reply

