Overcoming Bloglessness

Coins

2 Comments

Scan0024

As part of my clutter downsizing efforts, I finally decided to gather up the old coins we’ve been storing for ages and get rid of them. In the fire safe we had some musty old blue collector’s albums, slotted for pennies, nickels or dimes. My grandfather had sent them, ages ago, along with some silver coins, carefully wrapped in chamois with a little note, in Grandfather’s typewriting.

Mr. Raven’s beer stein was half full of foreign coins his dad had collected and, to our surprise, somebody’s gold dental fillings! We scrounged through junk drawers and jewelry boxes picking out ugly old handed-down rings, useless gold crucifixes and a broken antique gold watch.  A local coin dealer gave us almost $500.00 for the load; much more than we’d expected. That was some of our best junk.

My grandfather’s old coins I decided to sell on eBay. I’d never sold on eBay before and I didn’t know diddley about numismatics, but I did all right.
The bidding started at ninety-nine cents for my first auction: Grandfather’s  1878 Liberty head dollar coin, nary a scratch on it.   In the thrilling last moments of the auction I watched the bids go higher and higher, ending at $156.00!

007006

The other commemorative coins and Indian head pennies I’d listed had a total face value of $2.26. I sold them for $217.00! I’m sure Grandpa would’ve been plum tickled. They really were lucky coins.

008

The stolen coins; if only we’d had those too. A foot locker full of silver dollars had been stolen from Mr. Raven’s dad, back in the eighties. Burglars stole from my dad too: his father’s gold watch and Grandma’s old coins; just a handful she’d kept in the kettle on the top shelf in the kitchen cupboard.  I used to take them down, when I was a kid, and wonder at the half-penny and the century old penny as large as a half dollar.

I kept the assortment of foreign coins, put them in a pretty box: pesos and francs, yen und kroner, just for show and tell.  Maybe someday I’ll see if there’s a get-rich-quick coin among them. I doubt it, but you never know!

042

 

 

 

Daily Prompt via Buffalo Nickel.

 

 

Author: Susan B Raven

For many years I have suffered from debilitating bloglessness, only writing in my head, while everyone else posted and shared with ease. Previous attempts at recovery have failed, my secret journals edited to death, pages torn out, crumpled and trashed. I will not succumb to this embarassing condition. I will continue to struggle against the rampant backspacing and endless blank staring. I refuse to relapse into the void that is bloglessness. I can do it. I am doing it. I am Overcoming Bloglessness.

2 thoughts on “Coins

  1. I love Morgan silver dollars. They look so lovely! Not as beautiful as Mercury dimes, but close!

Leave a Reply

