Overcoming Bloglessness

That’s All It Is

14 Comments

Daily Prompt via I Want to Know What Love Is.

38849_1350806534228_1715462_n

Love is a biological function that acts as a bonding agent. That floaty feeling is a chemical reaction in which the brain’s decider, the frontal cortex, stalls temporarily and the brain’s pleasure center, which is also responsible for addictions and obsessive-compulsive disorders, lights up.

Love is a concoction of testosterone, estrogen, dopamine, oxytocin, adrenaline, norepinephrine, vasopressin and decreased serotonin levels.

Love is a means to an end; a way to keep pairs and families bonded and ensure survival of the species.

DRAGON BOAT FLATHEAD LAKE 043

If not for love, we’d all go our separate ways.

Author: Susan B Raven

For many years I have suffered from debilitating bloglessness, only writing in my head, while everyone else posted and shared with ease. Previous attempts at recovery have failed, my secret journals edited to death, pages torn out, crumpled and trashed. I will not succumb to this embarassing condition. I will continue to struggle against the rampant backspacing and endless blank staring. I refuse to relapse into the void that is bloglessness. I can do it. I am doing it. I am Overcoming Bloglessness.

14 thoughts on “That’s All It Is

  1. The question is, Susan–what causes the chemical reaction??? Which is cause and which effect? Interesting post…Judy

  2. Did you make the head? Great art!

  3. I have read many statements on love and how it connects everything. However, I still am not positive a person could not be completely happy without love. At least as an adult anyway. The jury is still out on this one, but no one ever seems to question that. It would seem like someone might have a different thought about the concept that love is the number one process for humans, and absolutely necessary.- for everyone without exception.

  4. I don’t think happiness is dependent on being loved or loving, especially if one has a passion for life or art or some other interest.

    • I think we make a lot more out of romantic love than we should. In fact I find the whole thing pretty boring and have since I was a kid (no I don’t find sex boring). I remember at age 4 or 5 asking my dad why there were all these songs about love. He said, “Because it’s the greatest thing in the world.” I think it’s great but I pretty much agree with you where romance is concerned. It’s biology purely and simply. So much research points to this from looking for a particular face (finding it and loving it — mom’s face, your face, dad’s face, whatever) to pheromes (which I can’t spell) and, I think, simple horniness. Things as great as love? Painting, hiking, traveling, writing a good story, a great conversation, a new experience…

Leave a Reply

