Overcoming Bloglessness

Betty and Wilma Walk on the Wild Side

29 Comments

No more chickens on the lawn; that’s the new rule. Mr. Husband treated the back lawn with things that chickens shouldn’t eat, so Betty and Wilma have been confined to their henyard, which is plenty big for two hens. Still, Betty paced the fence, trying to find a way out to the green grass she loves.

032

There’s no grass growing in the henyard, so dear husband bought us an old fashioned bale of hay, to sweeten the deal. (He doesn’t do flowers, but a bale of hay is cool.)

It feels like of a rite of passage, My First Bale. I’m country now. I can lounge in the sun on my own bale of hay, chew on a straw and cluck with the biddies. I’ve taken my coffee out there, to the bale. Wine too.

The good news for Betty and Wilma is, there’s a gate in the henyard that they didn’t know about. It opens to a big world they’ve never seen, beyond the fence; a world of grass and dirt, and fields and a road and predators. One day I opened the gate and took Betty and Wilma for their first short excursion. 

022

 We stayed close to the fence at first, until I saw how they’d behave.   I was a little nervous. What if they run away? What if a dog happens by?   But no dogs happened and the hens kept an eye on me and stayed nearby. When it was time to go in, I shoo-shoo-ed them, like I always do and they went right back through the gate. Such obedient little hens.

I’ve taken them a little further each day, down the length the back fence. One day, a weird slap of wind reared up and blew our plumage backwards. I was afraid it would blow the hens away! I wanted to scoop them up, but that’s not realistic, so I just ran and yelled to them, “C’mon! Let’s go!” They understood.

Follow Momma! They ran as fast as their drumsticks could carry them, back along the fence, through the gate to the safety of the henyard. I was so proud of them. Such good girls.

Today, they followed me like puppies, out to the front yard.  They’re getting the lay of the land. One day we’ll go all the way around the house.

I don’t leave them out in the world unsupervised. I shepherd my little flock, keeping an eye out for predators. I think Betty and Wilma enjoy our little field trips. I like to keep life interesting for them.

020

Daily PromptYou get fantastic news. What’s the first thing you do?
via Supercalifragilisticexpialidocious.

The first thing I do is tell my husband. “Betty and Wilma are so smart! Guess what they did today?”

Author: Susan B Raven

For many years I have suffered from debilitating bloglessness, only writing in my head, while everyone else posted and shared with ease. Previous attempts at recovery have failed, my secret journals edited to death, pages torn out, crumpled and trashed. I will not succumb to this embarassing condition. I will continue to struggle against the rampant backspacing and endless blank staring. I refuse to relapse into the void that is bloglessness. I can do it. I am doing it. I am Overcoming Bloglessness.

29 thoughts on “Betty and Wilma Walk on the Wild Side

  1. I love that you take your hens for a walk. 🙂

  2. I’m sure Mr. Husband would be excited to hear their adventure today. The question is, what will he think about you after you exposed them to possible dangers around the house? Hahaha.

    Love it. Post more pictures, please.

  3. Love it. I had a half dozen hens when we still lived in a house. They liked to get out and wander in the yard, but always followed me back to their tajma-chicken-hall.

  4. You know I’m a fan. And that is just sooooo cute, the hens out for a stroll. I was wondering…chicken leashes? Are there such a thing? Maybe you could invent one, and get really rich like the duck calls guy.

  5. No room for my own chickens, so I visit the 60 hens around the corner, looked after by Harald. I am sure they know me know and all come flocking for a photo take when I arrive. Love the photo you have with Wilma and Betty standng side by side.

  6. I’m so happy to think of you three on your outings, and that your little flock is doing so well! Love to think of you on that bale of hay as well. I found myself talking to a baby snail this morning as I rescued it from being crushed underfoot during my Spring tidying of the garden. I can never understand why people think talking to animals is odd. Seems quite natural to me.

  7. Those are lucky hens. I doubt their drumsticks will ever be drumsticks. 🙂

  8. Betty and Wilma, they seem to be super intelligent. Which one is which?

  9. That was so hilarious! Loved the humor!! “I cluck with the biddies!” LOL! Enjoy your biddies!

Leave a Reply

