Overcoming Bloglessness

Dandelions and Marigolds

12 Comments

008

Why do people kill the generous little dandelions? They’re only trying to bring a little pop of sunshine to your plain green lawn.

A yard cheered by dandelions invites playfulness. The blossoms are happy to be plucked by sweet little baby fingers and sniffed under wrinkled up noses. Dandelions are the perfect flower to wear in your hair or over your ear. A dandelion necklace is elegant simplicity.

A helpful flower too, you can hold a dandelion under your chin, to see if you like butter. Use dandelion greens in salad. When the bright yellow blooms turn to puff, close your eyes, make a wish and blow away the fluff.

Dandelions are spontaneous and free, yet gardeners curse their yellow heads and douse them with poison. Then they go out and buy marigolds. Marigolds! Stinking yellow flowers borne in plastic cubicles. Flowers that conform, standing in obedient lines, only blooming where planted and offering no hope of a wish come true.

I’m jealous of folks with dandelioned yards. Marigolds wish they could be so free.

Daily Prompt We all get jealous from time to time — what wakes the green-eyed monster for you?
via Green-Eyed Lady.

Author: Susan B Raven

For many years I have suffered from debilitating bloglessness, only writing in my head, while everyone else posted and shared with ease. Previous attempts at recovery have failed, my secret journals edited to death, pages torn out, crumpled and trashed. I will not succumb to this embarassing condition. I will continue to struggle against the rampant backspacing and endless blank staring. I refuse to relapse into the void that is bloglessness. I can do it. I am doing it. I am Overcoming Bloglessness.

12 thoughts on “Dandelions and Marigolds

  1. I myself are very fond of dandelions. I wish they bloomed for a little bit longer, but I love their shiny yellow heads. We have a ton of them … and the violets, too.

  2. I like dandelions too. In fact I still have the same affection for daisies and buttercups, dandelions and clover that I had as a child. I don’t see them as weeds.

  3. My “lawn” (purists would scoff at the very idea that what’s outside is a lawn) – let’s start again – my grass is loaded with dandelions, buttercups, violets, and clover. It is not loaded with herbicides. Vive la difference!!

  4. There’s a lot of this kind of freedom in my yard right now. 🙂

  5. This blog earned a Bean Pat as blog pick of the day. Check it out at: http://patbean.wordpress.com

Leave a Reply

