Overcoming Bloglessness

Bear Map

18 Comments

It was like a weather map, in my dream, only it wasn’t tracking high and low pressure systems. The color coded markings on this map of North America indicated the routes of grizzly bears.
The lines on the map squiggled all around Montana.  A few lines headed west and some trekked a northerly route to the east coast, as if they took the freeway.  This was exciting new information! Who knew  griz migrated so far? Nobody knew. Just me, in my dream.

What does it mean?

It  means the weather map is the most interesting part of the local news.  It means I need a road trip.

It  means it’s that time of year when we say,  Let’s go look for bear.   Mr. Raven and I headed north one evening looking for bear and found two.  Two!   Almost like we knew right where to go.  Timing is everything.

One big, beautiful bear crossed the road ahead of us.  It might’ve been a grizzly, it was so big, but we didn’t get a good enough look (fumbling to get this bad photo) before he disappeared into the woods.  It’s pretty coat was dark underneath, fading to golden up top.

018

Down the road a piece we spied a little black bear, moseying along the edge of the road.
It was too dark by then to get a bad picture, but he sure was cute!

014

More scenery from that excursion. Elk and deer in the fields.

011

Today I was excited to see the Sandhill cranes not far from my house. I’d heard them, I knew they were close, but today I finally got to see them.  🙂   I bet they have babies nearby.

009

Daily Prompt: To Sleep, Perchance to Dream.

Author: Susan B Raven

For many years I have suffered from debilitating bloglessness, only writing in my head, while everyone else posted and shared with ease. Previous attempts at recovery have failed, my secret journals edited to death, pages torn out, crumpled and trashed. I will not succumb to this embarassing condition. I will continue to struggle against the rampant backspacing and endless blank staring. I refuse to relapse into the void that is bloglessness. I can do it. I am doing it. I am Overcoming Bloglessness.

18 thoughts on “Bear Map

  1. Because you live amidst extraordinary beauty, it’s spring, and you’re a fantastic photographer 🙂

  2. Sometimes it is not a matter of timing
    but nature’s hand in it.

  3. They made it! That’s a pretty long flight. 🙂

  4. What an extraordinary place to live, surrounded by all that nature. I’m chuffed if I get sparrows and Great Tits on my bird feeder and Rosechafer beetles on the flowers. Amazing.

  5. Is that Ben? Where’s Grizzly Adams?

  6. Apologies, comment as you please- I was being precious.

  7. Awesome! And the pictures of the mountains made me squeak! Ehhh!!!

Leave a Reply

