Overcoming Bloglessness

The Laundry Zone

9 Comments

Daily Prompt Tell us about your favorite way to get lost in a simple activity — running, chopping vegetables, folding laundry, whatever. What’s it like when you’re in “the zone”?
via The Zone.

Running and chopping vegetables would be least likely to produce any kind of Zone state for me. Running would probably kill me and chopping vegetables is right up there with running.

Folding laundry though, I get into that. When fully focused on sorting and matching in the most efficient manner, I’m whisked away from any troubling thoughts, into a Zone-like state.

I’m one with the laundry. I am the laundry, flapping in the breeze, purified in sunlight.

I’ve mastered the Martha Stewart fold for t-shirts. I stack paired up socks, heels all facing the same way, but  alternate  washcloths and boxer shorts so they stack more evenly.

I pride myself on my ability to distribute a full load of folded, stacked laundry to it’s various closets in one trip, no basket, without spillage.  When the laundry sits neatly on the shelf and the closet door closes, it’s then that I wake up from my trance and realize, I’ve just been in The  Laundry Zone

Author: Susan B Raven

For many years I have suffered from debilitating bloglessness, only writing in my head, while everyone else posted and shared with ease. Previous attempts at recovery have failed, my secret journals edited to death, pages torn out, crumpled and trashed. I will not succumb to this embarassing condition. I will continue to struggle against the rampant backspacing and endless blank staring. I refuse to relapse into the void that is bloglessness. I can do it. I am doing it. I am Overcoming Bloglessness.

9 thoughts on “The Laundry Zone

  1. You are welcome to my house any day, though I will wager my husband’s folding against anyone. The man can FOLD.

  2. Someone sent me that video about how to fold a t-shirt and all I could think was, “Oh my god there are people out there devising systems for folding t-shirts AND then making live action movies. Something’s really, really wrong with that or with me and I don’t know which.”

  3. Since we have to do our laundry at the landromat, it’s a bit different. The socks get paired and thrown in the basket, everything else gets folded and plopped on top. We have seen old guys who are obviously ex-military doing precision folding of t-shirts. It’s quite the sight.

Leave a Reply

