Overcoming Bloglessness

On The Way Home

10 Comments

Weekly Photo Challenge  On the Way

I used to laugh at the stacks of bad photos my sister sent, all  taken through the buggy windshield of a moving vehicle.  
I understand though; sometimes you’ve just gotta shoot.   I took these photos on a drive to Portland.  I wasn’t driving.  My driver was driving.  I was shooting out the window.

136

The scablands in eastern Washington are the boring stretch, unless you think about how this used to be the ocean floor and how the Missoula floods scoured out this landscape.

031

I remember the Columbia Gorge before the wind turbines sprouted up like wildflowers.  I like seeing them and knowing we’re using more wind power.

019

Columns of basalt line the gorge.

086

Groves of fast growing Pacific albus look like clone trees all lined up in perfect rows.

125

Mt. Hood.  I grew up with that mountain. Almost home.

043

My driver can’t pull over every time I want to take a picture and I can’t not take pictures, so I shoot out the window, like my sister, only better.

 

 

 

 

Author: Susan B Raven

For many years I have suffered from debilitating bloglessness, only writing in my head, while everyone else posted and shared with ease. Previous attempts at recovery have failed, my secret journals edited to death, pages torn out, crumpled and trashed. I will not succumb to this embarassing condition. I will continue to struggle against the rampant backspacing and endless blank staring. I refuse to relapse into the void that is bloglessness. I can do it. I am doing it. I am Overcoming Bloglessness.

10 thoughts on “On The Way Home

  1. I never saw your sister’s photos, but these are really great. The wind mills against that yellow sky is breathtaking, but they are all excellent. I take a lot of out the window pictures too. On long car trips, it’s shoot or wish you had!!

  2. I agree with Marilyn – love your work!

  3. It’s hard to not take photos while driving, or being a passenger I suppose is better.

  4. Your shots are so pretty,there were fireworks in me when I was looking at the pics *_*

  5. I do that too! Take pictures out the window of our moving car..sometimes through the windshield, sometimes out the passenger window. My husband looks at me like I’m nuts…but sometimes you get the best stuff like this! Love the trees…they look like birch! And thanks for stopping by my blog. PS: Your header? I’d like to live there. Just would take a little fixing up.

    • Thank you, Dawn. 🙂
      I’d like to go back in time and live in that cabin when it was new.
      I think the trees are aspen.
      I’m shooting out the window more than ever, lately. It’s a challenge!

  6. Pingback: elephant On the Way : The Daily Post's weekly photo challenge - Sylvain LANDRY

Leave a Reply

