Overcoming Bloglessness

Baby Blues

10 Comments

western bluebirds 003

How can I get anything done will all these babies in the yard? This morning I took 130 shots of them before I’d put my glasses on.

western bluebirds 002

They’re western bluebirds.  They’ll have a red breast.

western bluebirds 073

I couldn’t get a shot of the babies being fed;  it happened so fast.  I was shooting by ear; staying focused on the babies, but listening for increased chirpage, which indicates Momma is nearby.

western bluebirds 108

They nested in our birdhouses this year.  Maybe that’s why we’re seeing them earlier than usual.  Or maybe it’s the warmer, drier than usual weather.

western bluebirds 130

I’ll have my coffee with the baby blues again tomorrow morning.  I’ll wear my glasses.  I want that shot of a baby being fed.

western bluebirds 099

I’m glad they feel at home in my yard.  I quite enjoy their company.

 

I ignored the Daily Prompt via Festivus for the Rest of Us.

Author: Susan B Raven

For many years I have suffered from debilitating bloglessness, only writing in my head, while everyone else posted and shared with ease. Previous attempts at recovery have failed, my secret journals edited to death, pages torn out, crumpled and trashed. I will not succumb to this embarassing condition. I will continue to struggle against the rampant backspacing and endless blank staring. I refuse to relapse into the void that is bloglessness. I can do it. I am doing it. I am Overcoming Bloglessness.

10 thoughts on “Baby Blues

  1. Aha…so we have a similar theme going here, Susan. Hope you don’t have to put yours to bed each night!

  2. Good grief, I wouldn’t get anything done either. Those are great shots. Last year we stayed in a campground in the middle of BFE near Southpass city, WY. There were three of those babies in a nest their mom built in a mailbox. I got some very cute photos of that.

  3. I have never seen a live bluebird. Only pictures. Thanks for showing me your babies. They are lovely. Aren’t we grateful for auto-focus 😀

  4. I love blue birds — I don’t think they will come to live in my yard here, but in California they did. I liked to talk to them when I was hiking. They’d always answer my mimicking whistle. Right now I have a mommy robin nesting outside the back door and some sparrows nesting on the other side and some beautiful yellow birds (warblers) nesting in the alder tree along my fence. I love it! I feel so bad when i startle Mommy Robin from her nest.

  5. Oh my they are adorable. Love that shot of the single bird with the blue wing feather. Love all of the shots!

Leave a Reply

