Overcoming Bloglessness

Fu Dao

16 Comments

Weekly Photo Challenge Symbol.

Bat (fu 蝠)

017

“A picture of a bat (fu 蝠) can be a visual pun for “good fortune” or happiness (fu 福) because both characters are pronounced fu. Often the bat is shown flying upside down because the character (dao 倒) for “upside-down” and the character (dao 到) meaning “to have arrived” are both pronounced dao. Therefore, if a person were to say “the bat is flying upside down” a listener could just as easily hear this as “happiness has arrived” which, of course, has a very auspicious connotation. ”
http://primaltrek.com/impliedmeaning.html

A most auspicious sighting! I was double lucky and double happy to have seen this thirsty bat, close up in the middle of the day. And I got his picture!

Author: Susan B Raven

For many years I have suffered from debilitating bloglessness, only writing in my head, while everyone else posted and shared with ease. Previous attempts at recovery have failed, my secret journals edited to death, pages torn out, crumpled and trashed. I will not succumb to this embarassing condition. I will continue to struggle against the rampant backspacing and endless blank staring. I refuse to relapse into the void that is bloglessness. I can do it. I am doing it. I am Overcoming Bloglessness.

16 thoughts on “Fu Dao

  1. How appropriate that you have both an upright and upside down bat in your picture! Wonderful luck!!! Great pic. http://judydykstrabrown.com/2015/07/11/the-rabbits-navel/

  2. That’s really interesting! Bats are so hard to photograph when they are flying, this is great!

  3. This is an incredible photo! Add the Chinese interpretation and my mind is blown. Outstanding!

  4. Cool! Thanks for sharing – as for the photo, that’s about as close as I want to ever be to a bat!!

    • True! It flew toward me and I got a really good look at its ears before it veered off.
      My husband yelled out, “Rabies!”
      It’s been unusually hot here; it just needed a little drink.

  5. What a great photo — and omen! 🙂

  6. Pingback: Old Volcano | litadoolan

  7. Pingback: birth |100 Emotions (a sketching challenge) | Ramisa the Authoress

Leave a Reply

