Overcoming Bloglessness

Eight Photos of Happiness

11 Comments

Mary Hone, at Tales from the Backroad, invited me to share Eight Photos of Happiness.

All my photos are of photos of happiness because I’m happiest when taking photos. It was hard to narrow it down to eight, so I used photos from my day today.

One

Fawns in the morning light.  I was happy to set two sets of twins and their moms in the field today.

023

Two

036

I caught a huge snake!    I was happy that I wasn’t scared to hold a snake.   I let it slither away after a few photos.

Three

075

Polliwogs!  I haven’t caught polliwogs since I was a tadpole.  Some are just starting to grow legs.  My granddaughters will enjoy seeing them.

Four

059

Play makes me happy.  See my new sling-shot?  I got the slingshot because I can’t do the hula-hoop.

Five

050

A common sucker –  the fish, not the guy.   I’m happy to say I’ve been with him more than half my life – I mean the guy, not the sucker.
Six

066

Ravens!  They must travel in  summer.   I’m happy they’re back.

Seven

081

An evening murmuration of blackbirds.

Eight

026

Oops! This isn’t from today, but these chickies always make me happy.

Check out Mary’s beautiful photos and others at  http://talesfromthebackroad.com/8-photos-of-happiness/

Author: Susan B Raven

For many years I have suffered from debilitating bloglessness, only writing in my head, while everyone else posted and shared with ease. Previous attempts at recovery have failed, my secret journals edited to death, pages torn out, crumpled and trashed. I will not succumb to this embarassing condition. I will continue to struggle against the rampant backspacing and endless blank staring. I refuse to relapse into the void that is bloglessness. I can do it. I am doing it. I am Overcoming Bloglessness.

11 thoughts on “Eight Photos of Happiness

  1. Great pictures! I really enjoyed looking at them all.

  2. Love those! Especially the fawns, and the ravens. Snake, not so much.

  3. these are delightful but the snake creeped me out lol

  4. Awesome photos, Susan! I like snakes, but I don’t know if I would’ve held one–good on you! “Our” snake came back; I hadn’t seen him/her in a long time near our garden but I spotted him/her slithering out of my way the other day as I mowed grass. Looks very similar to the one you’re holding. Beautiful stuff, family and nature, slingshots and all. Whoever carved the slingshot is very talented.

    • I doubt I’d be so brave with a bigger snake. When I was a kid I caught one that size and took it into the garage to show my dad who responded with “Get that thing outta here!” That’s when I realized my dad was scared of snakes and, suddenly, so was I! I don’t think I’ve held one since then, until yesterday. My husband didn’t like it either.
      I bought the slingshot at a gift shop – don’t know if it’s mass produced or hand carved.

  5. I think I would say you have found happiness. Looking at your happiness pictures makes me happy, too.

  6. Your happy shots make me feel happy! 🙂

Leave a Reply

