Overcoming Bloglessness

Stone Stacker

12 Comments

On the way to the usual fishing spot I spied from afar a pillar of stacked stones.
020

As I veered off course to get a closer look, more towers and structures began to appear.   This is some serious stone stacking.

024

Whose little kingdom had I wandered into?  Someone creative, with time and patience and a steady hand.

030

Maybe it’s a tribute or perhaps a meditation.

Maybe it’s an exercise in meaningless creation.

037

This one is my favorite.  Notice the use of matchy-matchy flecked stone with the pure alabaster topper.  Exquisite!

I was careful not to disturb anything.  I wanted to add a tower of my own, but stacking takes tedious time and I had to catch up with Mr. Raven who had not been sucked in to the kingdom as I had been.

So, I left a hasty thank you note to let The Stacker know, I’ve been here and I appreciate your fine work.

038

 

 

Daily Prompt – Immortalized in Stone

Your personal sculptor is carving a person, thing or event from the last year of your life. What’s the statue of and what makes it so significant?

Make me a totem pole.  There shall be a raven on top, of course,  and then an owl atop a fox atop a wolf atop a bear.

Because it’d be so cool to have a totem pole in the yard. None of the neighbors have one.

 

Author: Susan B Raven

For many years I have suffered from debilitating bloglessness, only writing in my head, while everyone else posted and shared with ease. Previous attempts at recovery have failed, my secret journals edited to death, pages torn out, crumpled and trashed. I will not succumb to this embarassing condition. I will continue to struggle against the rampant backspacing and endless blank staring. I refuse to relapse into the void that is bloglessness. I can do it. I am doing it. I am Overcoming Bloglessness.

12 thoughts on “Stone Stacker

  1. Oh I liked what you did! How did you manage to get up there? Did you climb those stones? I think those stacked stones are neat.

  2. Ha. My husband (the potato salad sculptor) used to do this when we went down the Klamath in kayaks to collect stones for his work. I wonder if any are still standing 18 years later? http://judydykstrabrown.com/2015/10/01/cast-in-potato-salad-carved-in-stone/
    (I already gave you this link, Susan, but it is related to this prompt, so just in case you read your messages backwards from newest to oldest, I’ll put it on this message, too. Enjoyed your sculpture..ha.

  3. LOL! Lord Veles smiles, humps his shoulders and walks back into the forest, thinking, “I like that human!”

  4. That person had stone stacking skills.

Leave a Reply

