Overcoming Bloglessness

Open House

9 Comments

It was a warm mid summer evening the last time I drove by the house on Holgate. In a passing glimpse I saw that it had been painted and the ugly old brick planter by the porch was gone. The big “picture window” had been replaced with a bigger window, modern and surely more energy efficient. The house was lit up, the front door wide open. For the first time since I was nine years old, I could see inside my childhood home.

They were having a soirée.  Warm light illuminated the scene in the living room which was full of people, some seated around the room, some mingling. There was music, but I only heard the thudding bass as we drove by.

It must’ve been a housewarming party. A young couple, newlyweds, maybe gay, bought the mid-century ranch style and updated everything. This was the big reveal, a celebration with all their best friends.

I almost asked my driver to go around the block so I could see it again. I would liked to have parked out front and gawked for a minute. I wished I could go inside and see the place.  I’m sure there would be no trace of my years in that house.  But that’s my tree shading their backyard.

It was just a stick I’d stuck in the dirt in my pretend garden some 55 years ago.  The stick took root and grew into a huge tree; a locust, I think.   I always look, when passing by, to see how big my tree has grown.   It’s still there, the tree that knew me then.

Never in all the trips past my childhood home had I seen such glowing energy there.  The old place looked new and alive and I felt curiously happy for the house on Holgate.

 

Daily Prompt –  Ode to a Playground

Author: Susan B Raven

For many years I have suffered from debilitating bloglessness, only writing in my head, while everyone else posted and shared with ease. Previous attempts at recovery have failed, my secret journals edited to death, pages torn out, crumpled and trashed. I will not succumb to this embarassing condition. I will continue to struggle against the rampant backspacing and endless blank staring. I refuse to relapse into the void that is bloglessness. I can do it. I am doing it. I am Overcoming Bloglessness.

9 thoughts on “Open House

  1. This is a wonderful story, Susan. So heartwarmin amidst so many that proclaim you can’t go home again. You did, and found it even better than before…And I love that part of yourself you found still there in the tree. This is one of my favorites of many favorites you have written. http://judydykstrabrown.com/2015/10/02/merry-go-round/

  2. Seeing an old family home is not always a good experience. I am glad that yours was and I’m glad your tree is still there.

  3. My favorite line: “It’s still there, the tree that knew me then.” I think they might have welcomed you in…or certainly would if you contacted them ahead. Still, maybe it’s best to stay as it was in your memory. I think about it too…my childhood house that my folks built. It just sold last year, I happened on that info accidentally. If I had known it was for sale I might have asked to walk through it. But probably not.

  4. For some reason a lot of us are drawn to the past and want to at least take a look at what use to be…I visited the first place that I began my life, but of course, the house was replaced by an industrial park, but I was able to see the two trees that use to be in my back yard and I could remember swinging on the old drooped clothesline that was strung between the trees and I opened my mouth to tell my sister and friend to not swing me so high…I ended up with the wire (the one that was next to the one I was swinging on) in my mouth and had to have 3 stitches on each side of my mouth. I took a picture of the trees that day I revisited my old homeland!

Leave a Reply

