Overcoming Bloglessness

Groovy Birds

9 Comments

Weekly Photo Challenge: Happy Place
This week, we want you to show us where you go to get your groove back.

A bird in hand is my grooviest groove.

075

Scrub Jay

012

American Crow

img_27111

037

Common Raven

Visiting my bird friends always gets my groove back.

Weekly Photo Challenge: Happy Place

Author: Susan B Raven

For many years I have suffered from debilitating bloglessness, only writing in my head, while everyone else posted and shared with ease. Previous attempts at recovery have failed, my secret journals edited to death, pages torn out, crumpled and trashed. I will not succumb to this embarassing condition. I will continue to struggle against the rampant backspacing and endless blank staring. I refuse to relapse into the void that is bloglessness. I can do it. I am doing it. I am Overcoming Bloglessness.

9 thoughts on “Groovy Birds

  1. I love crows as well. These are wonderful pictures. Do you work at a bird sanctuary? Not often we see people touching wild birds. http://judydykstrabrown.com/2015/10/15/our-lady-of-forgetfulness/

    • Thank you, Judy. I volunteer one morning a week, cleaning and feeding rehab birds. There are about a dozen resident, non-releasable raptors (9 kinds of owl!) used for education tours.
      The scrub jay was in my yard and the raven at the park.

      • I used to have tons of scrub jays in my redwood trees in CA. What noisy but beautiful birds. Real predators, though. We also had Stellar jays. Have you read “Baker’s Blue Jay Yarn” by Mark Twain? Smart birds. I would love to work in a bird sanctuary, with dolphins or chimpanzees, but won’t happen in this life. There is something about smart animals that so perfectly contains evolution in one compact package.

        • I never expected to get the opportunity to work with birds. I’m learning a lot about something I love. 🙂
          Dolphins – whoa! That would be amazing. I cried my eyes out when I saw Keiko, the orca; he was magnificent!
          I will look up that blue jay tale. Thanks!

  2. That is a great happy place.

  3. I love crows and magpies, except when they dive-bomb in spring. Then I get a little grumpy with them

Leave a Reply

