Overcoming Bloglessness

Still Mad?

13 Comments

I saw the back of his shiny head for the first time in two years. It was at the elementary school, in the music room where third graders were performing. He was seated with his wife in the front row, so my husband and I took seats in the back, near the exit, planning slip out quickly when it was over.

The children, dressed up like pioneers, trappers, cowboys and Indians, played zithers and sang Polly-wolly-doodle all the day! I waved to the pioneer girl with her hair in a bun.

I wondered if he was uncomfortable up there, knowing we were present. Did he feel a hot stare burning a hole in the back of his head? Could he not wait for it to be over?

Or was he thinking, This would be a good time to make amends? Maybe he’d approach and greet us, just for show.  Maybe a courtesy nod?

What if I approached, hugged his wife and acknowledged him?

No. I could not, would not. The back of his head was tolerable, but not the front.

The children sang the official state song.

Montana, Montana, Glory of the West
Of all the states from coast to coast, You’re easily the best
Montana, Montana, Where skies are always blue
Montana, Montana I love you!

When the performance was over we bolted, as planned.  No stopping to admire the little chairs or the artwork in the hall;  we were out the front door, first in the parking lot.  When we got to the minivan I looked back and saw one guy at the far end, head down, hurrying to his car.

He’d slipped out the side door.

His wife and the pioneer girl stood there with no one.

At least she knew I’d been there.

 

Daily Prompt: I Can’t Stay Mad at You

Do you hold grudges or do you believe in forgive and forget?

Author: Susan B Raven

For many years I have suffered from debilitating bloglessness, only writing in my head, while everyone else posted and shared with ease. Previous attempts at recovery have failed, my secret journals edited to death, pages torn out, crumpled and trashed. I will not succumb to this embarassing condition. I will continue to struggle against the rampant backspacing and endless blank staring. I refuse to relapse into the void that is bloglessness. I can do it. I am doing it. I am Overcoming Bloglessness.

13 thoughts on “Still Mad?

  1. I guess it depends on the person, and the reason.

    • His wife is my daughter. Could you tell?

      • I thought perhaps he was an old lover…prompted by the enigmatic last line–where it seemed to be more important that she knew you were there than that he did…i.e. vestiges of “ownership” even though you now despise him…perhaps he left you for her? But, now that I know the full story, it works that way as well. I actually think it is very skillful the way you don’t quite tell the full tale and leave it open to interpretation. Really very well done, Susan. But, in that I can’t stand not knowing the real story, thank you for your generous sharing of it. This is perhaps even more heartbreaking–so the little one you watched was the same one they were watching!

        • Thank you. I value your thoughts on it. I was tempted to say that the girl was my granddaughter. She invited me, so I wanted her to know I was there.
          My daughter actually greeted us when we arrived and she laughed about it afterward, they way we avoid each other. 🙂

  2. Beautiful writing — I want to know the back story!

  3. Is this he who shall not be mentioned?

  4. Good writing. I think the back story is clear…unless you are playing us and somewhere later in the tale will reveal the truth.

  5. So difficult and pointless. 😦

Leave a Reply

