Overcoming Bloglessness

Peeking Raven

13 Comments

Weekly Photo Challenge: Eye Spy

IMG_5455

I spy this guy.

IMG_5446

Raven, checking for treats.

 

IMG_5435

After caching his muffin somewhere in the trees, Raven returned, looking for more. I showed him my empty hands. All gone! He fluffed up his feathers and bowed his head, as birds do to invite preening. I moved my hand toward him and dared to touch the only part I could reach; his beak. I petted with one finger and he nudged his head closer before he took off!

I touched his beak!  I touched a wild raven’s powerful beak and he didn’t take my fool finger off!

I’ve been visiting this pair for several years and had never touched one until today.

I’m still all giddy inside.

IMG_5456

Source: Eye Spy

Author: Susan B Raven

For many years I have suffered from debilitating bloglessness, only writing in my head, while everyone else posted and shared with ease. Previous attempts at recovery have failed, my secret journals edited to death, pages torn out, crumpled and trashed. I will not succumb to this embarassing condition. I will continue to struggle against the rampant backspacing and endless blank staring. I refuse to relapse into the void that is bloglessness. I can do it. I am doing it. I am Overcoming Bloglessness.

13 thoughts on “Peeking Raven

  1. How wonderful. He likes you.

  2. Congratulations. That’s a real achievement, making a wild bird trust you enough to let you touch him. And the pictures are wonderful too.

  3. Do as I do challenge perfection by seeking “Good enough” and just get it out there.

  4. What an amazing story! He recognized you! I was reading about ravens recently, since there are so many of them around here…led me to feel that they could be pretty great pets.They are incredibly smart and will warn you of predators/strangers that come to your property and, much like a dog, they stand guard. Lucky encounter!

Leave a Reply

