Overcoming Bloglessness

Layers

7 Comments

IMG_6749

These are my two new layers, the inseparable Lulu and Molly.  They aren’t dropping eggs yet, but I expect they’ll be putting out by summer’s end.

Lulu Laakenvelder is the white and black.   She’s an escaper; the only one in my flock of five motivated enough to fly to the top of the henhouse and over.  Sadly, she’s not clever enough to fly back in.   The crow hollers to let me know when the bad girl is out.  Once free, Lulu misses Molly so she sits and mopes on the other side of the fence.  Lulu’s grounded now; I had to clip her pretty little wings.

Molly’s plumage is green sheen on black.  She’s the better bug hunter and more content to stay in the henyard.

IMG_7034

 

IMG_6751

Betty and Penny and Fanny tolerate the littles, but they keep to their own little clique.   Fanny is the most assertive; the littles fear Fanny.  Penny is the kindest.  Betty’s indifferent.

The red hens are the best layers, rarely missing a day.  Betty takes frequent long breaks from laying when she’s broody; wishing for her own little babies.  Sorry Betty.  No roosters allowed.

These days I  count on two eggs a day.  When Betty’s up to it,  three.  By summer’s end I may get five eggs a day.  What do I do with all those eggs?  I give them to my neighbor who pays me with empty egg cartons.  I cook eggs for the crow and feed ’em to the hens and the feral cat.

The flock has reached maximum capacity.  I know, I said that when I only had three hens, but this time I really mean it.

Really and truly.

 

 

 

Write a new post in response to today’s one-word prompt. Not sure how to participate? Here are the steps to get started.

Source: Layers

Author: Susan B Raven

For many years I have suffered from debilitating bloglessness, only writing in my head, while everyone else posted and shared with ease. Previous attempts at recovery have failed, my secret journals edited to death, pages torn out, crumpled and trashed. I will not succumb to this embarassing condition. I will continue to struggle against the rampant backspacing and endless blank staring. I refuse to relapse into the void that is bloglessness. I can do it. I am doing it. I am Overcoming Bloglessness.

7 thoughts on “Layers

  1. She’s back! Quantum layer’s i presume 😉

    Hope all’s well.

  2. Layers … and then, there are layers. I love your interpretation. Perfect !

  3. Just discovered you – I loved your hen story – I am hoping to have a few in the near future.

Leave a Reply

