Overcoming Bloglessness

Daily Prompt: Standstill

7 Comments

Upper Stillwater Lake

Upper Stillwater Lake

Daily Prompt: Standstill.

For a moment today, time stands still — but you can tweak one thing while it’s stopped. What do you do? Photographers, artists, poets: show us STILLNESS.

Standstill

According to the book of Joshua, the last time the sun stood still there was a terrible slaughter. I promise not to do that.

While the world is at a standstill, I’ll tweak religions into ancient history where they belong. Nobody will be hearing god voices that mandate death and violence. There will be no indoctrinating children, no teaching them to fear eternal fire. Nobody will claim to be acting on their god’s will or demand that others do so. We will not retard scientific progress with ancient mythology.
When the earth moves again, we’ll be evolved out of superstitions, the root of the violence and hatred we see in the headlines every day. 002

Author: Susan B Raven

For many years I have suffered from debilitating bloglessness, only writing in my head, while everyone else posted and shared with ease. Previous attempts at recovery have failed, my secret journals edited to death, pages torn out, crumpled and trashed. I will not succumb to this embarassing condition. I will continue to struggle against the rampant backspacing and endless blank staring. I refuse to relapse into the void that is bloglessness. I can do it. I am doing it. I am Overcoming Bloglessness.

7 thoughts on “Daily Prompt: Standstill

  1. Funny how those hearing god voices always seem to hear doom, gloom, retribution, destruction and revenge, along with a message saying they’ve been chosen to implement it. Shame we can’t keep the love bit and dice the rest

  2. Pingback: Daily Prompt: Standstill | Chronicles of an Anglo Swiss

  3. Pingback: When Time Stands Still, I’m Trumping Trump | The Arkside of Thought

  4. Pingback: Rocket to space | A mom's blog

  5. If you need an assistant in this task you can count on me.

Leave a Reply

